The Commonwealth is an association of some of the world’s largest, smallest, richest and poorest independent countries which work together to promote democracy, good governance, human rights and economic development.

The modern Commonwealth began in 1949 when Commonwealth Prime Ministers met and adopted the ‘London Declaration’ where it was agreed all member countries would be “freely and equally associated.” The values which unite the Commonwealth (democracy, freedom, peace, the rule of law and opportunity for all) were reaffirmed in 2009 in Trinidad and Tobago.

The 54 countries that make up the Commonwealth are divided into 4 regions: Africa including Europe; Asia; the Caribbean including the Americas; and the Pacific.  The Commonwealth boasts over two billion diverse citizens and 1.2 billion of them are young people (aged 15-29). The Commonwealth Youth Programme has 4 regional centres which can be located in Zambia for the Africa region, India for the Asia region, Guyana for the Caribbean region and Solomon Islands for the Pacific region.

54 independent states working together in the common interests of their citizens for development, democracy and peace.

Antigua and Barbuda Jamaica
Australia Kenya St Lucia
St Vincent and the Grenadines
The Bahamas   Kiribati Samoa
Bangladesh Lesotho   Seychelles  
Barbados Malawi Sierra Leone  
Belize Malaysia Singapore
Botswana   Maldives Solomon Islands
Brunei Darussalam   Malta South Africa  
Cameroon Mauritius Sri Lanka  
Canada Mozambique   Swaziland  
Cyprus Namibia Tonga
Dominica Nauru Trinidad and Tobago
Fiji* New Zealand Tuvalu
The Gambia Nigeria Uganda
Ghana Pakistan United Kingdom
Grenada Papua New Guinea United Republic of Tanzania  
Guyana Rwanda Vanuatu
India St Kitts and Nevis Zambia  


*Following the decisions taken by the Commonwealth Ministerial Action Group on 31 July 2009, Fiji was suspended from membership of the Commonwealth on 1 September 2009