The Commonwealth Caribbean region is vast and stretches from Canada in North American to Guyana in South America. This region is composed of thirteen (13) independent territories of the 54 Commonwealth Counties that form the inter-governmental organisation called the Commonwealth of Nations. The population of this region is approximately 40 million and is spread between Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Canada, Dominica, Guyana, Grenada, Jamaica, St. Lucia, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Vincent and Trinidad and Tobago. There are also six (6) British Overseas Territories (British Dependencies) which are in the Caribbean region however these territories are not recognized as Commonwealth countries. These countries are Anguilla, Bermuda, the British Virgin Islands, Cayman Islands, Montserrat and the Turks and Caicos Islands with a combined population of approximately 200,000. Although the Overseas Territories are British, they have a Caribbean curriculum and operate under the Caribbean Community (CARICOM) framework with the one (1) exception of Bermuda. In the Caribbean region there are National Youth Councils/Associations in the following territories; Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, The Bahamas, Barbados, Dominica, Jamaica, St. Lucia, St. Kitts and Nevis, St. Vincent and the Grenadines and Trinidad and Tobago. All of these national youth representative bodies form the Regional Youth Body which is currently called the Regional youth Caucus but as of September 2013 it will be called the Caribbean Youth Council. This body represents youth issues, youth views and youth concerns whilst advocating and lobbying on their behalf. However, there are only two (2) student representative bodies in the Caribbean region namely the Jamaica Union of Tertiary Students (JUTS) and the National Secondary Students’ Council (NSSC)-both of which are found in Jamaica. There is no regional student representative body in the Caribbean region, however, […]